The World Water Day Awards is an interagency awarding in consonance with the celebration of the World Water Day on March 22, 2018. The theme for the 2018 World Water Day was “Nature for Water.” The 2018 awards were hosted by the National Water Resources Board (NWRB) and Maynilad. Awards given were: Kampeon ng Lawa, Huwarang Lingkod-Tubig Award, Kampeon ng Katubigan Award, Water-Wise City Award, Water Leadership Award; Huwarang Alagad ng Ilog Pasig, and Water Warrior Award. For water districts, the Local Water Utilities Administration (LWUA) was tapped by the host agencies for the Huwarang Lingkod-Tubig Award.


LWUA launched its “Huwarang Lingkod –Tubig Award 2018” through LWUA Memorandum Circular No. 006-18 re: World Water Day 2018. The category for 2018 Huwarang Lingkod-Tubig Award was the Best PR Practices on Watershed Development Program. Three winners were declared, one from Luzon, one from Visayas and one from Mindanao.


Awarding of winners for the World Water Day 2018 awards took place last March 22, 2018, 1:30PM at Novotel Araneta Center, Quezon City. The award-giving body honored individuals, institutions, and programs that made strides in achieving water and water environment sustainability in the Philippines.




Water Districts were invited by LWUA to join the Huwarang Lingkod-Tubig Award 2018. Each Regional Association was only allowed to submit one entry per region. Entries submitted should have an endorsement from the Regional Association as the official entry to the abovementioned award.


Entries were in the form of a narrative with photos and/or videos based on the following criteria:


Sustainability of Watershed Development Program          -     30%

Effectivity/Impact of the PR Program in the Community              -     30%

Socio-Economic Impact                                                            -     20%

Effective Inter-Agency Collaboration                                 -     20%


Declared winners were:


            Luzon               - Metro Naga Water District

            Visayas            - Silay Water District

            Mindanao          - Butuan City Water District                     


For the Mindanao Category, there were five final entries considered while the others were automatically disqualified as said entries were not endorsed by their regional association. Among the 5 entries were from Butuan City Water District, Davao City Water District, Metro Kidapawan Water District, Valencia City Water District and Zamboanga City Water District.

Total Views: 990   Today: 1
Last Update: June 08, 2018